Happy Birthday cake and balloons slimline card

Use your stencil for dry embossing

Hello everyone!

It’s time again for a new challenge on the Penny’s Paper-Crafty challenge blog. The theme is always anything goes.

Our Sponsors are:

and

For this challenge, I got to work with the digital stamp Happy birthday slice by Mirtillamente.

Who wouldn’t want cake and balloons for his/her birthday? For this card, I wanted to use bright colors to make it nice and festive. In addition, I again used the dry embossing technique with your stencil.

So, lets get into it.

Card recipe:

  • The base of the card is the size of a slimline card. You will need a piece of white card stock measuring 21 centimeters by 21 centimeters. Score at 10,5 centimeters.
  • A piece of white card stock to use your dry embossing with stencils on.
  • Digital stamp.
  • Letter dies.
  • Stencil.
  • Alcohol markers. But you can use any color medium you like.
  • Punch.
  • Colored card stock.
  • Black card stock measuring 21 centimeters by 10,5 centimeters. And scraps. Fi
  • Slimline die.
  • Die-cutting machine.

Coloring of the digital stamp.

I printed my digital stamp on DCP paper.

As you can see, I did not use the digital stamp as you buy it. I decided to separate the pastry and balloons. This time, I did so by simply cutting them apart after I printed them.

I colored the image with my alcohol markers (Twin markers):

  • Red Balloon: Cardinal (244), English Red (249) and Burgundy (247).
  • Orange Balloon: Cardinal (244), Amber (266), Carrot Orange (269) and Orange (23).
  • Yellow Balloon: Orange (23), Deep Yellow (32), Lemon Yellow (35) and Pastel Lemon (39).
  • Green Balloon: Weeds Green (162), Grass Green (47) and Forest Green (50).
  • Blue Balloon: Dark Sky (191), Midi Sky (190) and Light Sky (189).
  • Flame: Cardinal (244), Orange (23), Deep Yellow (32) and Lemon Yellow (39).
  • Candle: Cool Grey 4 (CG4) and Cool Grey 1 (CG1).
  • Frosting and strawberry: Cardinal (244), English Red (249) and Burgundy (247).
  • Cake: Buttercup Yellow (141), Caramel (253) and Walnut (100).
  • Grapes and berries: Blue Grey Purple (158), Electric Purple (159) and Violet Dark (274).

The colored the balloons twice.

On top of the balloons and the frosting, I applied Paper Glaze to give it some shine.

Dry embossing with a stencil.

I wanted dots in the background of the card. I don’t have these as an embossing folder, but I do have a stencil with dots. So, I decided to apply the technique of dry embossing with a stencil.

To use this technique, you do need a die-cutting machine. Take the bottom plate of the die-cutting machine. This is where you place your embossing mat on top. Spray your paper with water on both sides. Place the wet paper on top of your embossing mat. Place another sheet of paper on top and close with your transparent plate. Run this through your die-cutting machine.

Now you have these beautiful dots on your paper. I die-cut a slice of that with a slimline die.

Creating the sentiment.

On this card, I wanted to use rainbow colors. So, I decided to die-cut the letters for the text Happy birthday in rainbow colors too.

I pasted the letters on black paper. I cut this out along the letters so that I would be left with a border of black as a shadow.

Assembling the card.

First, I glue the black slimline piece on top of my base card. I put all the elements on my card and glued that down. I punch some stars in the same rainbow colors and glue them on my card.

I glue my panel on top of the black card stock and the card is finished.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog. Check out my other team members creations on the Penny’s Paper-Crafty challenge blog. I hope to see you there with your creations.

Happy Crafting!

I would like to enter this card in the following challenges:

Products I used:

  • Slimline die from Aveccreative.
  • Letter dies from Aveccreative.
  • Stencil from Craftsensations.
  • Digital stamp Happy birthday slice by Mirtillamente.
  • Punch brand unkown.
  • Twin markers (alcohol markers) by Decotimecrafts.

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday cake and balloons slimline card

  1. lavenderhousecreations 21 June 2023 / 19:45

    This is great card. I love how you cut the digi to get the look you wanted and your colouring is lovely. A fun slimline for sure. thanks for joining the fun at Cardz 4 Galz, Johanna DT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellen Dekker 21 June 2023 / 13:43

    Het is weer een prachtig kleurrijk kaartje!
    Elke jarige zou hier heel vrolijk van worden!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment